Harbor Coalition: Waterfront Project Workshop

Harbor Coalition:
Waterfront Project Workshop Priority Projects in Your Congressional District

The Harbor Coalition wants to hear from you! This workshop will be an opportunity to discuss priority projects in congressional districts and an opportunity for all attendants to collaborate with other conference participants who share an interest in waterfront issues.

• Participants will be grouped into congressional district teams in which fellow constituents, largely comprised of activists, community and business groups–as well as congressional staffers–can identify priority waterfront restoration projects in their home district.

• Congressional district teams will conceptualize how to effectively engage in coalitionmaking and shared-interest activism within and among regional districts.

• The group activities will be facilitated by members of the Harbor Coalition.

Lilo H. Stainton, Campaign Director, NY-NJ Harbor Coalition

Marcia Bystryn, President, New York League of Conservation Voters 

Table Leaders

  • Office of US Rep. Yvette Clarke, District Director, Anita Taylor
  • Office of US Rep. Joseph Crowley, Deputy District Director, Annette Juriaco
  • Office of US Rep. Eliot Engel, District Manager, Lori Copland
  • Office of US Rep. Michael Grimm, District Director, Nick Curran
  • Office of US Rep. Carolyn Maloney, Chief of Staff, Minna Elias
  • Office of US Rep. Gregory Meeks, Senior Policy Advisor, Benjamin Branch
  • Office of US Rep. Jerrold Nadler, District Director, Rob Gottheim
  • Office of US Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr., Staff Assistant, Pam Yuen
  • Office of US Rep. Bill Pascrell, Deputy Chief of Staff, Assak Akhter
  • Office of US Rep. Charles Rangel, Deputy District Director, Geoff Eaton
  • Office of US Rep. Steven Rothman, Congressional Aide, Brian Nagle
  • Office of US Rep. José E. Serrano, District Director, Cheryl Simmons-Oliver
  • Office of US Rep. Albio Sires, Field Representative, Gabriel Rodriquez
  • Office of US Rep. Edolphus Towns, Chief of Staff, Al Wiltshire
  • Office of US Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez, Community Coordinator, Dan Wiley

Table Leaders - Advocates

  • Joesph Branzetti, President, Friends of Fort Totten Park
  • James Cervino, Ph.D., Co-Founder, Coastal Preservation Network
  • Rob Crafa, Director of Waterfront Program, SUNY Maritime College
  • Carter Craft, Board Member, Hoboken Cove Boathouse
  • Michelle Doran-McBean, CEO, Future City, Inc.
  • Jeanne DuPont, Executive Director, Rockaway Waterfront Alliance
  • Katie Ellman, President, Green Shores New York City
  • Adam Green, Executive Director, Rocking the Boat
  • Damian Griffin, Education Director, Bronx River Alliance
  • Ted Gruber, Chair Emeritus, Long Island City Community Boathouse
  • Ray Howell, Executive Director, Gowanus Dredgers Canoe Club
  • Katina Johnstone, Co-Founder, Kayak Staten Island
  • Richard Kampf, Board Member, Gowanus Canal Conservancy
  • Lorraine McCartney, Office Manager, Raritan Riverkeeper
  • Dan Mundy, President, Broad Channel Civic Association
  • Tom Pietryskoski, Education and Outreach Chair, Lower Passaic and Saddle River Alliance
  • Tony Pignatello, Commodore, Sebago Canoe Club
  • Bill Schultz, Riverkeeper, Raritan Riverkeeper
  • Captain Bill Sheehan, Founder, Executive Director and Riverkeeper, Hackensack Riverkeeper
  • Richard Toussaint, Harlem River Park Task Force
  • Cristian Vergara, Coney Island Brighton Beach Open Water Swimmers
  • Nancy Webster, Deputy Director, Brooklyn Bridge Park Conservancy
  • Dart Westphal, Organizational Development Consultant, Support Center for Non-Profit Management
  • Elizabeth Yeampierre, Executive Director, UPROSE
  • Chauncey Young, Community Organizer, Harlem River Working Group


Harbor Coalition Workshop (Part 1 of 2) by MetroWaterfront



Harbor Coalition Workshop (Part 2 of 2) by MetroWaterfront


Metropolitan Waterfront Alliance • 241 Water Street, 3rd Floor • New York, NY 10038 • 212-935-9831 © 2009 Metropolitan Waterfront Alliance. | Staff Login